Paris Agreement

Current Affairs | General Knowledge | Science | Mathematics | Quiz

The Paris Agreement is a multi-nation agreement to limit global warming well below 2.0 °C. The Paris agreement is framed by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) which deals with greenhouse gases emissions mitigation.

The Paris agreement was opened for signature on April 22, 2016, the Earth day, before the 197 parties to the convention. The Paris agreement had to enter into force only if 55 countries which produce at least 55% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions ratify the Agreement. On April 22, 2016 the Paris Agreement was ratified by 15 member states.

On October 5, 2016, the threshold for entry into force of the Paris Agreement was achieved. And, as of November 2016, 115 members have ratified the agreement. The Paris Agreement entered into force on November 4, 2016.