Timeline: History of Pakistan

Pakistan | Pakistan Affairs | Economy | Geography | Foreign Policy | Education | History | Timeline | Key Facts | PakGK | MCQs

Pakistan History → Timeline


14 August 1947
Pakistan got independence from British rule.

12 March 1949
The objective resolution of Pakistan containing “Aims and Objectives of the Constitution” was passed by the Constituent Assembly. And the ‘Basic Principles Committee’ was appointed to frame the principles of the Constitution.

28 September 1950
The Basic Principles Committee submitted its interim report.

9 March 1951
Prime Minister Liaquat Ali Khan announced the foiling of the first Martial Law attempt planned by Major General Akbar Khan.

16 October 1951
Liaquat Ali Khan, the first Prime Minister of Pakistan, was assassinated at Committee Bagh (Liaquat Bagh), Rawalpindi.

7 October 1953
Prime Minister Muhammad Ali Bogra presented his “Bogra Formula” to the Constituent Assembly which addressed the issue of the representation between East and West Pakistan in the federal legislature.

23 March 1956
The first constitution, “The Constitution of 1956” was enforced.

Pakistan | FPSC | CSS | NTS | Federal Board | MCQsUrdu