Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) was founded on September 25, 1969 when Leaders of Muslim nations met in Rabat, Morocco. The OIC was formed as a symbol of Islamic unity and integrity of the Muslim world. OIC changed its name from Organisation of the Islamic Conference to Organisation of Islamic Cooperation on June 28, 2011.

Need for the establishment of OIC
Turkey participated in the World War I (WWI) on the side of Axis Powers and was defeated. The Allies, then, signed the Treaty of Sevres with Turkey on August 10, 1920 which took away large slices of Ottoman territory and distributed them among the victors of war.
India who had already occupied Jammu and Kashmir in 1948, attacked Pakistan in 1965. And, in 1967 Israel attacked 3 Arab countries: Egypt, Jordan and Syria.
All these events demanded the collective voice of the Muslim world to safeguard their interests, and ensure security and progress.

OIC languages
OIC has 3 official languages: Arabic, English and French.

OIC Secretariat
OIC permanent Secretariat is located in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. The current secretary general of OIC is Dr. Yousef bin Ahmad Al-Othaimeen of Saudi Arabia. The Secretary General is elected for a period of 5 years.

OIC Members
The OIC has 57 member states. Palestine is the only member of OIC, who is not the member of UNO. Palestine is an observing member of United Nations.