South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)


The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) was founded on December 08, 1985. SAARC is a regional alliance of South Asian countries. The idea of establishing a regional cooperation (SAARC) was put forward by former late president of Bangladesh, Ziaur Rehman. SAARC Members Currently SAARC has 8 members: Afghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan India Maldives Nepal […]

Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

Shanghai Cooperation organization (SCO) is an international organization founded on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai, China. The SCO has six founding members namely, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. India and Pakistan became full members of Shanghai Cooperation organization on 9 June 2017. Thus, currently there are 8 members of the organization. The Heads of […]


OPEC, an acronym for “Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries” is an inter-governmental venture created in September, 1960 at Baghdad Conference by signing of an agreement between five founder countries (Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela) initially. Later, OPEC was joined by Qatar in 1961, Indonesia & Libya in 1962, United Arab Emirates in […]

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)


Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) was founded on September 25, 1969 when Leaders of Muslim nations met in Rabat, Morocco. The OIC was formed as a symbol of Islamic unity and integrity of the Muslim world. OIC changed its name from Organisation of the Islamic Conference to Organisation of Islamic Cooperation on June 28, 2011. […]

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)


North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an intergovernmental military alliance based on the North Atlantic Treaty. In the treaty, NATO members agreed on a system of collective defence, that is, an armed attack against any member state would be considered an attack against them all. This treaty was signed on April 04, 1949 in Washington […]


G-20 is an informal group consisting of 19 countries and European Union. It was created on the suggestion of G-7 Finance Ministers after the result of economic recession of 1998-99 at Cologne Summit of June 18, 1999. On the whole, this was one of the steps taken by World powers to recover from the losses […]

European Union (EU)

European Union

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of European countries. The EU’s working capital is Brussels, Belgium. EU members Currently the European Union has 28 member states. Croatia has become the 28th member of the European Union on 1 July 2013. The Euro currency is used by 19 out of 28 EU […]

Developing 8 Countries (D-8 Countries)

The Developing 8 (D-8) is an organization of eight developing countries that have formed an economic development alliance. The objective of D-8 Organization is to improve major Muslim developing countries’ economic position in the world economy. The idea of cooperation among major Muslim developing countries was proposed by Dr. Necmettin Erbakan, the then Prime Minister […]


BRICS is an economic bloc with its name employed from the first letters of the member countries i.e. Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. These all are newly emerging economic powers with their presence in G-20 as well. This bloc represents 42% of world population with 20 % of gross world product. Jim O’Neil […]

United Nations Key Facts


Secretary General UNO is Antonio Guterres of Portugal since January 1, 2017. The Secretary General is elected for a period of 5 years UNO was founded on October 24, 1945 The motto of UNO is “It’s your world!” The Headquarter of UNO is in New York, USA with other main offices in Geneva, Nairobi, and […]