Developing 8 Countries (D-8 Countries)

The Developing 8 (D-8) is an organization of eight developing countries that have formed an economic development alliance. The objective of D-8 Organization is to improve major Muslim developing countries' economic position in the world economy.

The idea of cooperation among major Muslim developing countries was proposed by Dr. Necmettin Erbakan, the then Prime Minister of Turkey. D-8 was officially formed through Istanbul Declaration issued at the end of a summit of heads of the states held in Istanbul on June 15, 1997.

D-8 Countries

The D-8 are large Muslim population countries. The eight D-8 countries are: Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

Principal Organs

D-8 has the following three principal organs:

  1. The Summit
  2. The Council
  3. The Commission

The Summit is the supreme organ of D-8, and is composed of the Heads of State of member states. It is convened once every two years.

D-8 Priority Areas

The five priority areas of D-8 are:

  1. Trade
  2. Agriculture and Food Security
  3. Industrial Cooperation & SMES
  4. Transportation
  5. Energy & Mineral

In addition to these five areas the D-8 Organization is considering to include "Tourism" as its sixth priority area of cooperation.

D-8 Secretariat

D-8 Secretariat is based in Istanbul, Turkey. Currently, Dr. Seyed Ali Mohammad Mousavi of Iran is the Secretary General of the D-8 Organization.


MalaysiaKuala LumpurRinggit

D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation
Secretary General:Dr. Seyed Ali Mohammad Mousavi, Iran
Founded on:15 June 1997
Headquarter:Istanbul, Turkey